Posted in 5 Stars, Book Review

Review: How to Get Ainsley Bishop to Fall in Love with You by T.M. Franklin


Genre: Young Adult Romance, Humor
Publisher: The Writer’s Coffee Shop
Publication Date: June 12, 2014 
Formats availablePaperbackKindle


Seventeen-year-old Oliver Wendell Holmes (Yes, his parents are just that peculiar, but his brother’s name is Sherlock, so it could have been worse) knows that he’s different. He’s quirky, awkward, and he’s okay with that. Oliver also likes making lists–meticulous procedures for achieving his goals, step-by-step. Whether it’s “How to Get an A in Chemistry” or “How to Get Accepted to MIT,” he has a process, and it’s worked for him so far. He doesn’t even care that the popular kids mock him. Oliver’s got his eye on the prize.

So when he decides it’s time to declare his feelings for Ainsley Bishop, the girl of his dreams, it’s only natural for him to make a list–a point-by-point strategy to win her heart. He knows it will take a grand gesture for her to see all he has to offer, and her approaching birthday provides the ideal opportunity for Oliver to put his plan into action.

Finding the perfect gift is a challenge Oliver meets with his usual dogged determination. He’ll need to watch her carefully for clues to pinpoint exactly what he should give her. And along the way, he might just learn that what Ainsley really needs is not quite what he expected.

MY RATING: 📚 📚 📚 📚 📚

An interesting departure from T.M. Franklin’s bestselling More trilogy, How to Get Ainsley Bishop to Fall in Love with You is a breath of fresh air. Alternating between touching, sobering, and laugh-out-loud hilarious, romance lovers and skeptics alike will fly through this delightful tale.

Unlike the majority of books in this genre, this is told from a male perspective, which provides a fresh outlook on romance and relationships. Oliver is instantly loveable, and even when he makes mistakes, I found myself cheering him on. 

While the main storyline, as the title suggests, follows Oliver’s attempts to woo Ainsley, there are other mature themes explored in these pages, including marital strife, family relations, death, and the nature of love. Pick up a copy now! I guarantee you won’t be sorry.

About the Author:

T.M. Franklin writes stories of adventure, romance, & a little magic. A former TV news producer, she decided making stuff up was more fun than reporting the facts. Her first published novel, MORE, was born during National Novel Writing month, a challenge to write a novel in thirty days. MORE was well-received, being selected as a finalist in the 2013 Kindle Book Review Best Indie Book Awards, as well as winning the Suspense/Thriller division of the Blogger Book Fair Reader’s Choice Awards. She’s since written three additional novels and several best-selling short stories…and there’s always more on the way.




Olivia Ard is the author of women's fiction trilogy The Bennett Series and Readers' Favorite 5-Star recipient 'Tis the Season. She is pursuing a second degree in sociology. She and her husband JD live in Central Alabama, where they await their miracle baby's arrival this November with joyful expectation.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s