Posted in Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’m Intimidated By

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam. You get a new topic every Wednesday, and you list your Top 5 books related to that topic. If you’d like to take part, join the Goodreads group, and add your name to the list of bloggers & booktubers!

This week’s topic is tough for me. Not to sound cocky, but there isn’t much that intimidates me when it comes to reading. That hasn’t always been the case, but since I conquered Tolstoy’s War & Peace a couple of years ago, there just isn’t much that fazes me anymore. Nevertheless, there at least five books on my shelf right now that have remained unread or unfinished due to intimidation. I’ll share those with you now!

The Simarillion, J. R. R. Tolkien

41sJJ1LDxRL.jpg

I’m not quite sure why I find The Silmarillion as intimidating as I do. I’ve read both The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings multiple times. Tolkien’s writing speaks to me on so many levels, especially now that I’m studying Anglo-Saxon and Medieval literature and understand their influence on him. He was inarguably a literary genius.

Perhaps I’m not really intimidated. Perhaps I’m just afraid of losing the last bit of unexplored territory in the Middle-Earth of my heart. Whatever the case, I’m working myself up to reading it.

The Histories, Herodotus

61HHV3wB42L._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Seeing as I have a degree in history, it’s a bit odd that this book intimidates me as much as it does. The size is a bit scary, I guess, but I’ve read volumes much larger than this without batting an eye. Maybe it’s that whole “the Father of History” thing. I’m not sure. In any case, I will be reading this soon. Someday. At some point.

Dune, Frank Herbert

41shWIN+ssL.jpg

I don’t have a fancy reason for why this one intimidates me. It just does. I’ve been meaning to read it for years now, since I plan on writing science fiction in the future and it’s one of the biggest titles in that genre, but I just keep looking at it and chickening out.

The Count of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas

9781435132115.jpg

I’ve tried to read the full, unabridged version of this book several times to no avail. The story, which I’m familiar with thanks to abridgements and (poorly done, from what I’m told) films, I love. It’s the language I’ve had issues with. Perhaps I need to try another translation, or maybe I just need to try it again! It took me about eight tries with Anna Karenina before I made it through.

Don Quixote, Miguel de Cervantes

Don+Quixote+retouch.jpg

Like The Count of Monte Cristo, I’m familiar with this story and absolutely love it. (Thanks, Wishbone!) I’m just terrified by the three pound brick of a paperback the story comes packaged in. Perhaps I should give it a go, this summer–surely if I can make it through War and Peace, I can conquer this?

I hope you enjoyed this week’s T5W! I’ll see you next time.

Author:

Olivia Ard is the author of women's fiction trilogy The Bennett Series and Readers' Favorite 5-Star recipient 'Tis the Season. She is pursuing a second degree in sociology. She and her husband JD live in Central Alabama, where they await their miracle baby's arrival this November with joyful expectation.

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’m Intimidated By

  1. In fact, Dune is the reason that my first phone conversation with Hubs (to arrange a blind date) didn’t go totally off the rails and result in my never meeting him in the first place. Because it takes introverts a little while to open up, and when he mentioned Dune, I had something I could talk about!

    Like

Leave a Reply

