Posted in Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Authors I’d Want To Meet at BookCon

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam. You get a new topic every Wednesday, and you list your Top 5 books related to that topic. If you’d like to take part, join the Goodreads group, and add your name to the list of bloggers & booktubers!

BookCon is coming up soon, in less than two weeks! Unfortunately, I won’t be attending this year–silly jobs and responsibilities–but this week’s T5W topic gives me the opportunity to think about who I’d try to meet if I were going. The list of participating authors can be found here.

Ann M. Martin

Ann-Matthews-Martin.jpg

As a child and preteen, I tore through all the BSC books our local library had to offer. I loved all of the characters, but thanks to my chronic shyness and my toxic love affair with junk food, I connected with Mary Anne and Claudia the most. My favorite books were the super specials like Baby-Sitters on Board!, Baby-Sitters’ Summer Vacation, Baby-Sitters’ Island Adventure, and New York, New York! I loved these because, unlike the regular series, these books featured chapters from several different points of view. If I were going to BookCon this year, I would try my hardest to meet Ms. Martin and thank her for writing the BSC books. They helped shape my formative years, and I’m crossing my fingers for at least one daughter so I can relive the wonder of reading them through her!

Marissa Meyer

Marissa-Meyer-headshot.jpg

I’m a fairly new fan of Marissa Meyer’s work, having only read her fantastic series The Lunar Chronicles this past winter. I still need to read Fairest and Stars Above, both of which are painfully waiting for me to finish up my schoolwork for this semester so I can dive right in. I went through a dry spell in reading last year after I finished writing and publishing my second book in two years–nothing could hold my attention or give me the enjoyable escape I craved. Cinder and her friends, along with a few other books, were what brought me back to the light side. I would love to meet Ms. Meyer and thank her for bringing me out of the reading desert!

Tig Notaro

08notaro-1-blog427

I’ve never actually read any of Tig Notaro’s writing, but I’ve heard her speak on a few episodes of This American Life, and I really enjoyed In A World…, a movie in which she played a supporting role. Her “comedy” routine in which she discusses a death in her family, a break up, and a then-recent cancer diagnosis, was poignant and heartbreaking, and her Taylor Dayne bit is pretty hilarious! I’d love to get a chance to meet her.

Veronica Roth

1022_veronica-roth-e1382461512163

 

I’m not a fan of the Divergent series–sorry, just not part of the intended demographic!–but if I were lucky enough to be attending the 2016 BookCon, you bet I’d be trying my hardest to meet this amazing lady. She’s only two years older than me, and already she’s a New York Times Bestseller? That’s pretty inspiring.

Cassandra Clare

Cassandra-Clare

Likewise, I haven’t made my way to City of Bones and the other books in The Mortal Instruments series, but I’d love to meet Cassandra Clare. She’s on her way to becoming a household name.

I hope you enjoyed this week’s T5W! I’ll see you next time.

 

Author:

Olivia Ard is the author of women's fiction trilogy The Bennett Series and Readers' Favorite 5-Star recipient 'Tis the Season. She is pursuing a second degree in sociology. She and her husband JD live in Central Alabama, where they await their miracle baby's arrival this November with joyful expectation.

Leave a Reply

